top of page
  • Anthony Ryb

Reflections...

Reflections can be many things. Looking in the mirror, looking back, looking at photographs, perhaps having memories triggered in various ways.


Have a think about when you look in a mirror or look in a window or a clear lake – the reflection coming back can appear very accurate, somewhat accurate or distorted.


This is the same with memories as each time we recollect them, they change and alter and are then filed away in the altered state.

Any future recollections or re-telling of such stories or memories depend on how accurate the memories need to be.


I bring this up because over the past week I passed by two places I used to live and somewhere I used to work and a host of memories going back many decades and taking me back to childhood, resurfaced. I chose to recollect fond thoughts and wore a smile whilst passing, pausing and stopping. Nostalgia and poignancy rested in me with reminders of some very happy times.


Life wasn’t perfect during any of these times, of that I am acutely aware and I can reflect on this knowingly and honestly. With the aid of time, distance and a lived life I can see how regardless of what occurred back then...like on a conveyor belt I have at times been carried forward, though regardless of how I made it, here I am many years and decades later having put in much effort, lived and worked in many new places.


Live, reflect, live, reflect, live, live, live would be my sentiment…there are always times to reflect and time is short to be lived.


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page