top of page
  • Anthony Ryb

Saying Goodbye...

A few days ago I had to say goodbye to someone. Saying goodbye is not something new to me and professionally it’s something I encounter on a daily basis as I welcome and then an hour later bid farewell to someone.

 

Often I will meet people again. Equally often I will only meet people the one time. I have learnt not to take anything for granted, especially time and relationships.

 

My goodbye last week was poignant. It was reflective, happy and contained some sadness. It was a healthy farewell. I have no idea if I will ever see this person again. We will both live our lives knowing that we shared some brief moments of healthy encounter.

 

I am mindful as I write there are just a few remaining hours for this month of March 2024 before we all become just a little foolish to start April.

 

I learnt a new [Japanese] word this weekend: KOMOREBI (pronounced Komolebi). It is formed from the Japanese characters for ‘Tree’, ‘leak’ and ‘sun’ and describes the sunlight casting shimmers and dancing shadows through the leaves in trees. Never the same, always changing. Saying ‘Hello’ and then almost instantly, ‘Goodbye’.

 

What are some of the things you welcomed over March and equally some of the things you bid farewell to? What (do you think, hope, wonder) lies ahead in April?

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page