top of page
  • Anthony Ryb

Asking for help...

I was asked what advice or tip would I give to a young person on the brink of becoming a teenager.

 

There were many things that sprung to mind but as I had to focus on one single thing, what I came up with was ‘not being afraid to ask for help or support’. This could be in times of need or at any time, it seems to me a good skill to possess.

 

It made me reflect on various events in my life and how differently certain things may have turned out, how I may have coped, dealt with or even avoided various situations if at specific times I either would have reached out for some support or received the appropriate care or attention.

 

We all have our own unique personalities and some people find it easier to reach out than others. Some of us can be quite stubborn or feel we can manage / sort things out by ourselves. Though I guess there is truth in the saying, “A problem aired is a problem shared and a problem shared is a problem halved”.

 

What is your character type when it comes to asking for help? Have you noticed this change in any way and if so how and why? On the other hand, how are you when someone requests your help?

 

I appreciate asking for help can make us feel, seem or appear vulnerable but so what. I remain convinced this would be the tip I would give a young person and in fact anyone of any age. In times of need, take a breath, go to someone you trust, find your voice and share. See what happens…

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page