top of page
  • Anthony Ryb

When less is NOT more...

We’ve all noticed over the years how certain things are getting smaller and yet they either cost the same or in many instances even more. Every day examples include chocolate bars, boxes of cereal and other food products – less in the pack but a higher price.


I recently purchased a pair of shoes from a brand I have been comfortable with for many years, or at least used to be. Now it would appear the price has increased and the quality of materials has substantially reduced.


I feel the same about various organisations and the service levels that used to exist but now sadly don’t to that same degree. This applies to banks, insurers, retailers, restaurants and many other outfits. Is this the new normal?


I’m not sure where this will end or if there will be a comeback to ‘good ol Fashioned customer service and value’. I’ve always felt that it takes the same amount of energy to smile as it does to frown, to say hello rather than grunt, to be supportive rather than obtuse.


Perhaps I’m a rarity, though speaking to others I don’t think so. I appreciate times are challenging right now and maybe it’s during these extreme moments that we can all test our characters and give a bit more to one another. A smile, a nod, offering to help – all will make a massive difference to the everyday lives of us all.


They say, every journey begins with that first step…when I’m out today I will be smiling and greeting people politely. Let’s see what follows on from that….

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page