top of page
  • Anthony Ryb

Journeys

I’ve always wondered why, when I walk down a road it feels different to when I walk back up it, whether on the same side of the street or the other. The same applies when I drive somewhere, regardless of through local streets or on the Motorway or along country lanes – the return journey always looks different to the initial one.


I appreciate that time has lapsed (be it minutes, hours, days or longer), I will have changed in some way during that time and other factors will be at play too.


I guess what it comes down to is that the start or beginning of something, is different to the end or completion. It’s different in many ways and for many reasons.


Some examples: Opening a bag of crisps, fresh loaf of bread, tube of toothpaste, episode 1/series 1…. There is wonder, excitement, it may be plentiful and abundant, fresh etc.


The remaining crumbs at the bottom of the bag, breaking your fingers as you try to squeeze the last bit of toothpaste from the tube, feeling how hard the bread has got or noticing mould growing….disappointment, sadness, frustration, annoyance etc


Looking at it from this perspective, it’s LOSS. The ending or loss of something creates a different feeling to the start that was. The start may be full of hope, energy and motivation and the ending potentially contains the draining and lack of those.


HOWEVER, it’s not always like this. Can you think of a start that may not be positive or an ending that may be joyful? Here’s an example that contains both in one. The DENTIST!!! At least for me….the start of any dental treatment fills me with dread, even if I know there will be a benefit. The ending fills me with joy.


So there are exceptions, but by and large beginnings will likely be more hopeful, joyful and fun than endings, however like always – take in both sides and appreciate that both exist as a result of the other.


Each ending will lead to a new beginning and around it travels in an ongoing circle….

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page